UPDATED: Coaches pick All-SEC teams (with a twist)

The SEC just released the preseason coaches all-conference teams with a notable difference from last season’s. Unlike in 2009, the league did not specify which players were unanimous selections.

That is interesting considering the witch hunt of last year’s SEC Media Days when Steve Spurrier’s ballot turned out to be the one who did not include Tim Tebow on the first team. There will be no such controversy surrounding this year’s Heisman Trophy winner, Mark Ingram. He is one of six Alabama players on the first team — tops in the conference. Florida had 10 overall to Alabama’s nine, but only three Gators made the first team.

Update: The SEC athletic directors voted to keep vote totals from being released this year, according to SEC spokesman Charles Bloom.

And now, the complete listing:

Offense first team
QB Ryan Mallett, Arkansas
RB Mark Ingram, Alabama
RB Derrick Locke, Kentucky
WR A.J. Green, Georgia
WR Julio Jones, Alabama
TE D.J. Williams, Arkansas
OL Clint Boling, Georgia
OL Carl Johnson, Florida
OL Barrett Jones, Alabama
OL Lee Ziemba, Auburn
C Mike Pouncey, Florida

Defense first team
DL Marcell Dareus, Alabama
DL Jerrell Powe, Ole Miss
DL Cliff Matthews, South Carolina
LB Josh Bynes, Auburn
LB Dont’a Hightower, Alabama
LB Chris Marve, Vanderbilt
LB Kelvin Sheppard, LSU
DB Mark Barron, Alabama
DB Patrick Peterson, LSU
DB Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina
DB Janoris Jenkins, Florida

Special teams first team
PK Blair Walsh, Georgia
P Drew Butler, Georgia
RS Warren Norman, Vanderbilt
AP Randall Cobb, Kentucky

Offense second team
QB Greg McElroy, Alabama
RB Jeff Demps, Florida
RB Trent Richardson, Alabama
WR Darvin Adams, Auburn
WR Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina
TE Luke Stocker, Tennessee
OL James Carpenter, Alabama
OL DeMarcus Love, Arkansas
OL Derek Sherrod, Mississippi State
OL Cordy Glenn, Georgia
OL Joseph Barksdale, LSU
C Ryan Pugh, Auburn

Defense second team
DL Pernell McPhee, Mississippi State
DL Drake Nevis, LSU
DL DeQuin Evans, Kentucky
DL Chris Walker, Tennessee
DL Ladi Ajiboye, South Carolina
LB Jerry Franklin, Arkansas
LB A.J. Jones, Florida
LB Craig Stevens, Auburn
LB K.J. Wright, Mississippi State
DB Ahmad Black, Florida
DB Chris Culliver, South Carolina
DB Will Hill, Florida
DB Neiko Thorpe, Auburn

Special teams second team
PK Caleb Sturgis, Florida
P Chas Henry, Florida
RS Brandon Boykin, Georgia
AP Chris Rainey, Florida

By team
Alabama 9
Arkansas 4
Auburn 6
Florida 10
Georgia 6
Kentucky 3
Ole Miss 1
Mississippi State 3
South Carolina 5
Tennessee 2
Vanderbilt 2

Leave a Reply