Barrett Jones, his protege receive postseason honors

Alabama center Barrett Jones received another award today when he was selected Capital One Academic All-American of the year for Division I. The College Sports Information Directors of America made the selection.

This past week, he also has won the SEC’s scholar-athlete award and the William V. Campbell Trophy, which is considered the academic Heisman.

However, the teammate Jones calls his protege also received an honor today. Backup center Ryan Kelly made the Southeastern Conference all-freshman squad today, along with three teammates: receiver Amari Cooper, running back T.J. Yeldon and defensive lineman D.J. Pettway.

The complete team:

TE: Jerell Adams, South Carolina
OL: John Theus, Georgia
OL: D.J. Humphries, Florida
OL: Brandon Shell, South Carolina
OL: Vadal Alexander, LSU
C: Ryan Kelly, Alabama
WR: Amari Cooper, Alabama

WR: Mike Evans, Texas A&M
QB: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB: Todd Gurley, Georgia
RB: T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
AP: Trey Williams, Texas A&M

DL: Dante Fowler, Florida
DL: Jonathan Bullard, Florida
DL: Issac Gross, Mississippi
DL: D.J. Pettway, Alabama
LB: Denzel Nkemdiche, Mississippi
LB: Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State
*LB: A.J. Turner, Arkansas
*LB: Otha Peters, Arkansas
*LB: Antonio Morrison, Florida
DB: Jalen Collins, LSU
DB: T.J. Gurley, South Carolina
DB: Rohan Gaines, Arkansas
DB: LaDarrell McNeil, Tennessee

Special teams
PK: Andrew Baggett, Missouri
P: Landon Foster, Kentucky
RS: Trey Williams, Texas A&M

Leave a Reply