SEC will honor Wimp Sanderson at league tourney

The Southeastern Conference will honor former Alabama head coach Wimp Sanderson as a league legend this year at the SEC basketball tournament.

A representative from each school will be honored at the tourney, which will be March 13-17 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville.

Sanderson coached at Alabama from 1980-92 and compiled a 267-119 record, which makes him the school’s all-time winningest basketball coach. He also served as an assistant coach during 1960-80.

In addition to Sanderson, the 2013 class includes Jerry Carlton, Arkansas; Ronnie Battle, Auburn; Bill Koss, Florida; Tim Bassett, Georgia; Jamal Mashburn, Kentucky; Geert Hammink, LSU; Rahim Lockhart, Ole Miss; Horatio Webster, Mississippi State; Norm Stewart, Missouri; Eddie Fogler, South Carolina; Len Kosmalski, Tennessee; John Beasley, Texas A&M; Mike Rhoades, Vanderbilt.

Each SEC basketball legend will be recognized at halftime of his school’s first game at the tournament.

This marks the 15th year of the SEC’s basketball legends programs. Here are Alabama’s legends:

1999: Reggie King
2000: Wendell Hudson
2001: T.R. Dunn
2002: Leon Douglas
2003: Buck Johnson
2004: Derrick McKey
2005: Gary Waites
2006: Jim Farmer
2007: Mike Nordholz
2008: Leon Marlaier
2009: Melvin Cheatum
2010: Charles Cleveland
2011: Robert Horry
2012: Jack Kubiszyn

Also find and follow The Daily Bama Blog on:
Twitter: @DailyEdwards

Comments are closed.